The Cullinan Premier Hotel and Spa
It is believed that the hotel was built in 1905, the first reference to the hotel was made in 1907. The Premier Hotel is a tribute to yester year.
At that time a Mr. Heymaan was running the hotel and shops. It was stated in the minutes that the buildings would be bought from Mr. Heymaan. It is unlikely that the hotel was built by Mr. Heymaan as the original plans of the hotel have Premier Transvaal D M Co. Ld. as a caption, the buildings being referred to, were probably the shops. The Co-operative Society continued to run the hotel until it closed in 1988.
The Hotel was taken over by the army during the war, but access was limited to commissioned ranks only. eventually managed to get. The hotel was eventually opened to all ranks but only in 1941 after much correspondence by the mine. Across the road is the annex which was also built by the army. Situated where the Cullinan Hotels car park is now located was a garage called Nichol’s, where he also ran a taxi service. The mine sold the hotel and the building has been re-furbished and it is once again been opened for business and is run by Maudie Smit who has boundless experience in Hospitality Industry and also owns the Cullinan Diamond Inn which is in affiliation with the Cullinan Premier Hotel and Spa.